Learn about the Four Stages of Sleep

Deep sleep is just one of the stages that occur in sleep cycles. But there are other stages as well, such as REM (rapid eye movement) sleep.

When you fly across time zones and need to go to bed in a new time zone, your body will be confused by the time zone change, leading to your deprived body stopping behaving normally.

It may have even had a hard time understanding what the different stages of sleep were all about. To learn more about these four stages of sleep and how they work, keep reading this article.

Stage 1

This form of sleep is called Non-Rapid Eye Movement, or NREM for short. You can make up your mind to sleep and shut your eyes. It typically lasts anywhere from one to ten minutes.

During this time, you experience light sleep and may wake up again very soon. When you start sleeping, your breathing slows down and becomes more regular. Your heart rate also drops to a normal level. As for your brain temperature and blood pressure levels, they drop too.

This is the moment when you experience hypnic jerks: the jerk that often occurs just as you’re dozing off followed by the feeling of falling down before you lose consciousness entirely.

If you have irregular sleeping habits–for example, if you go straight from work to sleep rather than waiting until morning–then these hypnic jerks will happen more frequently than they should.

Stage 2

Stage two of sleep is not just a light or sound sleep. It lasts for about 20 minutes and will be followed by a drop in your heart rate and body temperature.

Your body becomes less active preparing it for the deep snooziness of stage three. Compared to other stages of sleep, it is so deep that waking up can be difficult while stage two releases larger waves.

When it comes to metabolic functions and blood pressure, they decelerate during this stage too. Stage two is common and you spend most of your time there, around 45 percent of the overall duration of sleep.

Stage 3

Stage 3, also known as Delta Sleep, is the third stage of sleep. It occurs after stage two, which is 40 to 45 minutes into sleep. If you look at an electroencephalogram during NREM stage 3 you will see that brain waves have slowed down and have become larger.

This means you don’t wake up easily from noises in your room or around you but still are able to sleep through them.

The final stage of NREM (Stage 4–actually called REM- or Rapid Eye Movement) – starts about 90 minutes after falling asleep and lasts for 20-25 minutes; anything less than 25 minutes is considered incomplete.

Stage 4

It is the final stage, and it will last for about ten minutes. It usually occurs after you have slept for about eighty-five minutes. Your eyes keep moving really quickly in all directions.

You sleep deeply and experience the most powerful dreams. The stage is associated with bed-wetting, sleepwalking, and heart problems. If you experience any one of these symptoms, please consult a doctor immediately.

Your heart rate increases with uneven rhythms during the stage, which may last for about an hour or so throughout the night.


You should probably get into contact with a doctor if you experience frequent or sudden dreams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *